Concert Archive: 2007/08 Season


Orchestra of St Paul's
Saturday 30 August 2008, 7.00pm, Framlingham College, Suffolk
MOZART Die Zauberflote
 

Dartington International Summer School
Thursday 14 August 2008, 8.15pm, Dartington 
Friday 15 August 2008, 3.30pm, Dartington

Orpheus in Love: a collaboration with the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
GERALD BUSBY Intentional Walk
GERALD BUSBY Amends world premiere
GERALD BUSBY Sunset world premiere
 

Orchestra of St Paul's
Saturday 2 August 2008, 7.30pm, Budleigh Salterton Festival
STRAVINSKY The Soldier's Tale
WALTON Facade
 ---
Richard Baker; Katie Derham reciter 
 

Barnet Schools' Wind Orchestra
Saturday 28 June 2008, London
Sunday 13 July 2008, London

SULLIVAN Overture: The Yeomen of the Guard
ELGAR Pomp and Circumstance Marches Nos 1 & 5
HOLST First Suite in E flat for military band
WALTON Crown Imperial
 

Forest Philharmonic Orchestra • South West Essex Choir • Vox Cordis
Saturday 12 July 2008, 7.45pm, Walthamstow Assembly Hall, London
ELGAR The Dream of Gerontius
 

Kingston Orpheus Choir
Saturday 5 July 2008, St John the Evangelist, Kingston upon Thames, Surrey
VARIOUS Madrigals
RUTTER Birthday Madrigals
 

Orchestra of St Paul's
Saturday 21 June 2008, 7.30pm, St Paul's Church, Covent Garden, London
WAGNER Siegfried-Idyll
R. STRAUSS Oboe Concerto
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3 in E flat 'Eroica'
 ---
Louise Hayter oboe
 

The Syred Consort
Saturday 26 April 2008, 8.00pm, Corpus Christi, Covent Garden, London
PARRY I Was Glad
FINZI Lo, the full, final sacrifice
FINZI God is gone up
TIPPETT Five Negro Spirituals
WALTON Coronation Te Deum
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Mass in G minor
 

Kingston Orpheus Choir
Saturday 19 April 2008, 7.30pm, St Mark's Church, Surbiton, Surrey
ELGAR; STRAVINSKY Ave Maria
BYRD; MOZART; ELGAR Ave verum corpus
DVORAK Mass in D
 

Orchestra of St Paul's
Saturday 12 April 2008, 7.30pm, St Paul's Church, Covent Garden, London
HAYDN Symphony No. 104 in D 'London'
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1 in C
 

Barnet Schools' Wind Orchestra
Saturday 29 March 2008, 7.00pm, Peel Centre, Hendon, London
SOUSA The Stars and Stripes Forever
BERNSTEIN Overture: Candide
GERSHWIN Strike Up the Band
 

Sinfonia of Cambridge
Saturday 15 March 2008, 8.00pm, West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge
HAYDN Symphony No. 69 in C 'Laudon'
HUMMEL Trumpet Concerto in E
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 2 in D
 ---
Heidi Bennett trumpet 
 

Bartholdy Chamber Orchestra • South West Essex Choir
Saturday 8 March 2008, 7.45pm, St Gabriel's Church, Wanstead, London
J. S. BACH Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D BWV 1068
J. S. BACH O Jesu Christ, mein's Lebens Licht BWV 118
HANDEL Four Coronation Anthems HWV 258-261
 

The Syred Consort
Saturday 23 February 2008, 7.30pm, St Patrick's Church, Soho, London
TALLIS Lamentations of Jeremiah Parts I & II
PRAETORIUS; GESUALDO; VICTORIA O vos omnes
LOTTI Crucifixus a 6 & a 8
ALLEGRI Misere
VICTORIA Ave Maria a 8
 

Orchestra of St Paul's
Saturday 16 February 2008, 7.30pm, St Paul's Church, Covent Garden, London
HANDEL Solomon: The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
HANDEL Concerto grosso in C 'Alexander's Feast' HWV 318
J. S. BACH Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor BWV 1067
J. S. BACH Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F BWV 1046
 

Syred Sinfonia
Tuesday 12 February 2008, 7.30pm, Gray's Inn Hall, London
PURCELL (ed. Britten) Chacony in G minor
BRITTEN Lachrymae
BRITTEN Serenade for tenor, horn and strings
R. STRAUSS Metamorphosen
 ---
Yuko Inoue viola
Richard Rowe tenor
Angela Barnes horn 
 

Amadeus Orchestra (assistant conductor) 
Saturday 29 December 2007, Tianjian Great Theater, China
Sunday 30 December 2007, Beijing Exhibition Centre, China
Monday 31 December 2007, Beijing Centre, China
Tuesday 1 January 2008, Jiansu Yancheng Middle School Arena, China (broadcast live on national television)
Wednesday 2 January 2008, Oriental Art Center, Shanghai, China
Thursday 3 January 2008, Oriental Art Center, Shanghai, China
Saturday 5 January 2008, Datong, China

Programmes including:
SHOSTAKOVICH Festive Overture
BORODIN Overture: Prince Igor
WILLIAMS Olympic Fanfare and Theme
JOHN BARRY James Bond Theme
MOZART Sinfonia Concertante in E flat KV 279b
RACHMANINOV Symphony No. 2 in E minor
 

Bartholdy Chamber Orchestra • Kingston Orpheus Choir
Saturday 8 December 2007, 7.30pm, St John the Evangelist Church, Kingston upon Thames
J. S. BACH Cantata: Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen BWV 51
HAYDN Missa brevis in F
MARCELLO Oboe Concerto in D minor
VIVALDI Gloria RV 589
 ---
Susannah Vango; Susanna Fairbairn soprano
Christopher Cotter trumpet
Jenni Britton oboe
 

Barnet Schools' Wind Orchestra
Friday 7 December 2007, 7.30pm, Christ Church, Finchley, London
BERNSTEIN West Side Story: Four Dances
SHOSTAKOVICH Jazz Suite No. 2
WOOLFENDEN Illyrian Dances
 

Bartholdy Chamber Orchestra • South West Essex Choir
Saturday 24 November 2007, 7.45pm, St Gabriel's Church, Wanstead, London
VERDI Overture: La forza del destino
LEONCAVALLO Pagliacci: Bell Chorus
VERDI Macbeth: Chorus of Scottish Refugees
VERDI Nabucco: Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves
PUCCINI Turandot: Nessum dorma
VERDI Aida: Grand March
PUCCINI Messa di Gloria
 

The Syred Consort
Saturday 17 November 2007, 7.30pm, St Michael's Church, Battersea, London
WALTON Set me as a seal
WALTON; BRITTEN Jubilate Deo
MALCOLM HAYES Corpus Christ world premiere
BRITTEN Rejoice in the Lamb
 

Divertimento 21
Wednesday 7 November 2007, St James's, Piccadilly, London
CECILIA McDOWALL The Night Trumpeter
STRAVINSKY Suite: The Soldier's Tale
 

Orchestra of St Paul's • Vox Cordis
Sunday 4 November 2007, 7.00pm, St Paul's Church, Covent Garden, London
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5 in C minor
MOZART Requiem KV 626
 

Cheltenham Symphony Orchestra
Saturday 13 October 2007, 7.30pm, Tewkesbury Abbey
WEBER Overture: Oberon
DVORAK Cello Concerto in B minor
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 6 in B minor
 ---
Oliver Coates cello 
 

The Syred Consort
Saturday 29 September 2007, 7.30pm, St Michal's Church, Battersea, London
BYRD Mass for four voices
PURCELL Hear my Prayer
BAIRSTOW Let all mortal flesh keep silence
WALTON A Litany
BRITTEN Hymn to the Virgin
BRITTEN Hymn to St Cecilia
ELGAR Choral Songs Op. 71 & 73
GRAHAM ROSS A Voice from Afar world premiere 
 

Orchestra of St Paul's
Saturday 15 September 2007, 7.30pm, St Paul's Church, Covent Garden, London
MENDELSSOHN Nocturno for winds
DVORAK Serenade in D minor
R. STRAUSS Suite in B flat Op. 4