Concert Archive: 2018/19 Season 


Orchestra of Opera North
Sun 28 Jul 2019, 17:00, Millennium Square, Leeds
JOHN WILLIAMS Jurassic Park in Concert

Orchestra of Opera North (recording)
Wed 17 Jul 2019, Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, University of Leeds
RAUTAVAARA Cantus Arcticus

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck (side-by-side project with young musicians)
Sun 7 Jul 2019, 15:00, Darmstadtium, Darmstadt
SHOSTAKOVICH Suite for Variety Orchestra (Jazz Suite No. 2)
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 5 in D minor

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sat 29 Jun 2019, 20:00, Jagdschloss Kranichstein, Darmstadt
Die “Last Night” im Wald
MENDELSSOHN
A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Overture
WEBER Der Freischütz: Overture
WEBER Der Freischütz: Durch die Wälder, durch die Auen
WAGNER Siegfried: Waldweben
WAGNER Die Walküre: Winterstürme wichen dem Wonnemond
HUMPERDINCK Hänsel und Gretel: Prelude
DELIBES Sylvia: Les chasseresses
J. STRAUSS II Im Krapfenwaldl
J. STRAUSS II Der Zigeunerbaron: Als flotter Geist
ELGAR Enigma Variations: Nimrod
ELGAR Pomp & Circumstance March No. 1
HENRY WOOD Fantasia on British Sea Songs
ARNE Rule, Britannia!
PARRY (orch. Elgar) Jerusalem
---
Marco Jentzsch tenor

Covent Garden Sinfonia
Mon 24 Jun 2019, 19:45, St Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead, London
Proms at St Jude’s
VIVALDI
Sinfonia RV 169 ‘Al santo sepolcro’
MAX RICHTER On the Nature of Daylight
ARVO PÄRT Fratres
BARBER Adagio for strings
MAX RICHTER The Four Seasons Recomposed
---
Fenella Humphreys violin

Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Sat 15 Jun 2019, 19:30, Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Sun 16 Jun 2019, 15:00, Usher Hall, Edinburgh
The Planets - An HD Odyssey
R. STRAUSS
Also sprach Zarathustra: Sunrise
J. STRAUSS II The Blue Danube
J.S. BACH (orch. Stokowski) Toccata and Fugue in D minor
JOHN ADAMS Short Ride in a Fast Machine
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7: Allegretto
JOHN WILLIAMS Star Wars: Main Title
HOLST The Planets
---
RSNO Chorus

Hallé Orchestra
Thu 30 May 2019, 19:00, Harrogate Convention Centre
DAVID ARNOLD Casino Royale in Concert

St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra
Fri 17 May 2019, 20:00, Grand Hall, St Petersburg Philharmonia
Sat 18 May 2019, 18:00, Grand Hall, St Petersburg Philharmonia
RAVEL Ma mère l’Oye: Cinq pièces enfantines
PROKOFIEV Cinderella: Suite No. 1 (excerpts)
JOHN WILLIAMS Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Suite
HOWARD SHORE Lord of the Rings: Symphonic Suite
JOHN WILLIAMS Adventures on Earth (E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial)
JOHN WILLIAMS Star Wars: Main Title
---
Alexander Malich presenter

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sun 5 May 2019, 11:00, Staatstheater Darmstadt
Sun 5 May 2019, 18:00, Staatstheater Darmstadt
Mon 6 May 2019, 19:30, Staatstheater Darmstadt
Magic of Movie XII
JOHN WILLIAMS
Hook: Flight to Neverland
MICHAEL GIACCHINO Up
JOHN BARRY Dances with Wolves: Concert Suite
JOHN WILLIAMS Escapades (Catch Me If You Can)
DEBUSSY Clair de lune (Ocean’s Eleven)
JOHN WILLIAMS Adventures on Earth (E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial)
ALAN SILVESTRI Back to the Future: Suite for Orchestra
JOHN WILLIAMS Superman: Love Theme
MOZART Symphony No. 25 in G minor: Allegro con brio (Amadeus)
JOHN WILLIAMS Viktor’s Tale (The Terminal)
JOHN WILLIAMS Revenge of the Sith: Battle of the Heroes
JOHN WILLIAMS Star Wars: Throne Room and End Title
---
Juri Tetzlaff presenter

NDR Radiophilharmonie (CD recording for Sony Germany)
29-30 Apr 2019, Große Sendesaal, Landesfunkhaus Niedersachsen, Hannover
Works by HANS ZIMMER, RAMIN DJAWADI, ENNIO MORRICONE, KARL JERKINS
---
Olga Peretyatko soprano

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Sun 14 Apr 2019, 19:30, Leeds Town Hall
Sat 20 Apr 2019, 19:30, Usher Hall, Edinburgh
Wed 24 Apr 2019, 19:30, Bristol Hippodrome
JOHN WILLIAMS E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial in Concert

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Sat 13 Apr 2019, 14:00, Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London
Sat 13 Apr 2019, 19:30, Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London
Tue 16 Apr 2019, 19:30, Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Wed 17 Apr 2019, 19:30, Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Thu 18 Apr 2019, 19:30, The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
Fri 19 Apr 2019, 19:30, Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool
Sun 21 Apr 2019, 19:30, Sage Gateshead
Mon 22 Apr 2019, 19:30, Aberdeen Music Hall
Thu 25 Apr 2019, 19:30, The Anvil, Basingstoke
ALAN SILVESTRI Back to the Future in Concert

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Tue 2 Apr 2019, 19:00, Stanislavski and Nemirovich-Danchenko Theatre, Moscow
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5 in C minor
DVORAK Symphony No. 9 in E minor ‘From the New World’

London Mozart Players
Fri 8 Mar 2019, 19:30, Chelmsford Civic Theatre
CHARLIE CHAPLIN The Gold Rush

Tri-borough Music Hub • Albert’s Band
Thu 7 Mar 2019, 19:00, Royal Albert Hall
CHARLOTTE HARDING Convo (world premiere)

Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen
Sat 2 Mar 2019, 19:30, Meistersingerhalle, Nürnberg
Sun 3 Mar 2019, 15:00, Liederhalle Beethovensaal, Stuttgart
JOHN WILLIAMS Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban in Concert (German premiere)

Covent Garden Sinfonia
Sun 10 Feb 2019, 19:00, Purcell Room, Southbank Centre, London
STRAVINSKY Dumbarton Oaks
J.S. BACH Brandenburg Concerto No. 3
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD Quark Dances
HEINRICH BIBER Battalia à 10
JOHN ADAMS Shaker Loops

Pilsen Philharmonic Orchestra
Sat 26 Jan 2019, 19:30, SAP-Arena, Mannheim
JOHN WILLIAMS Star Wars in Concert: Episode IV - A New Hope

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Wed 23 Jan 2019, 19:00, Municipal House, Smetana Hall, Prague
JOHN WILLIAMS Jaws in Concert

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sat 19 Jan 2019, 15:00, Wagenhalle Griesheim (open general rehearsal)
Sun 20 Jan 2019, 16:00, Kurhaus Wiesbaden
MOZART Symphony No. 35 in D ‘Haffner’
MAHLER Symphony No. 7

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sat 12 Jan 2019, 15:00, Wagenhalle Griesheim
Sat 12 Jan 2019, 20:00, Parktheater Bentheim
Sun 13 Jan 2019, 11:30, Wagenhalle Griesheim (family concert)

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 2 in D
LEHAR Ballsirenen
J. STRAUSS II Johannis-Käfern
J. STRAUSS II Vergnügungszug
LEHAR Gold und Silber
J. STRAUSS II Russische Marsch-Fantasie
J. STRAUSS II The Blue Danube
---
Juri Tetzlaff presenter (13 Jan)

City Light Chamber Orchestra
Sun 6 Jan 2019, 15:00, Der MaiHof, Luzern
Sun 6 Jan 2019, 17:00, Der MaiHof, Luzern
CARL DAVIS Easy Street
CARL DAVIS The Immigrant

Hallé Orchestra
Sat 29 Dec 2018, 19:00, The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
DAVID ARNOLD Casino Royale in Concert

Covent Garden Sinfonia
Mon 24 Dec 2018, 12:30, Brighton Dome
Mon 24 Dec 2018, 15:00, Brighton Dome

PROKOFIEV Peter and the Wolf
HOWARD BLAKE The Snowman
---
Pui Fan Lee narrator

Cinematic Sinfonia
Sat 22 Dec 2018, 14:30, Royal Albert Hall, London
Sat 22 Dec 2018, 19:00, Royal Albert Hall, London

JOHN WILLIAMS Home Alone in Concert
---
Crouch End Festival Chorus

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Thu 20 Dec 2018, 11:00, Royal Albert Hall, London (relaxed performance)
Thu 20 Dec 2018, 14:15, Royal Albert Hall, London
Thu 20 Dec 2018, 17:30, Royal Albert Hall, London
HERBERT CHAPPELL Paddington Bear's First Concert
HOWARD BLAKE The Snowman
---
Stephen Mangan narrator

The Orchestra of Opera North
Sun 16 Dec 2018, 16:00, Leeds Town Hall
JOHN WILLIAMS Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
TCHAIKOVSKY The Nutcracker: Suite
HOWARD BLAKE The Snowman
---
John Savournin narrator

Grimethorpe Colliery Band
Sat 8 Dec 2018, 19:30, Sage Gateshead
TREVOR JONES Brassed Off Live

Sinfonietta de Lausanne
Fri 7 Dec 2018, 19:30, KKL Luzern, Konzertsaal
HENRY MANCINI The Pink Panther in Concert (European premiere)

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Mon 3 Dec 2018, 19:30, Symphony Hall, Birmingham
JOHN WILLIAMS Home Alone in Concert

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Sat 1 Dec 2018, 19:30, Hull Venue
JOHN WILLIAMS Jurassic Park in Concert

BBC Singers
Fri 30 Nov 2018, 18:00, St Giles Cripplegate, London
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD Gaudi et Laetare
ARNOLD BAX I sing of a maiden
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD This time a child is born
ARNOLD BAX This Worldes Joie
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD From the beginning of the world
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD Floodlight, Starlight
ARNOLD BAX Five Greek Folksongs
CHERYL FRANCES-HOAD There is no rose

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sun 25 Nov 2018, 18:00, Stadtkirche Darmstadt
BRITTEN War Requiem
---
Darmstädter Kantorei
Darmstädter Singschule
Juanita Lascarro soprano
Alexander Kaimbacher tenor
Jens Hamann baritone
Christian Roß conductor (symphony orchestra)
Ben Palmer conductor (chamber orchestra)

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Mon 19 Nov 2018, 19:30, The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
Tue 20 Nov 2018, 19:30, De Montfort Hall, Leicester
Wed 21 Nov 2018, 19:30, Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Thu 22 Nov 2018, 19:30, Bournemouth Pavilion
JOHN WILLIAMS Jurassic Park in Concert

London Mozart Players
Sun 18 Nov 2018, 16:00, St John the Evangelist, Upper Norwood, London
JOHN WILLIAMS Dartmoor, 1912
DARIO MARIANELLI Pride and Prejudice
WILLIAM WALTON Two Pieces from Henry V
DAVID BRAID Score for an Imaginary Film (world premiere)
SAMUEL BARBER Adagio for Strings
RACHEL PORTMAN The Duchess: Suite
JOHN WILLIAMS The Hatikva
DEBUSSY Clair de lune
JOHN WILLIAMS Theme from Schindler’s List
BERNARD HERRMANN Psycho: a narrative for string orchestra

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sun 4 Nov 2018, 19:00, Peking University Hall
DVORAK Symphony No. 9 in E minor ‘From the New World’
JOHN WILLIAMS E.T.: Adventures on Earth
JOHN WILLIAMS Theme from Schindler’s List
ALAN MENKEN Beauty and the Beast: Overture
JOHN WILLIAMS Harry Potter: Harry’s Wondrous World
JOHN WILLIAMS Star Wars: Main Title

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Tue 30 Oct 2018, 19:30, Cadillac Shanghai Concert Hall
The 1 Nov 2018, 19:30, Beijing Concert Hall
R. STRAUSS Also sprach Zarathustra: Sunrise
J. STRAUSS II The Blue Danube
JOHN WILLIAMS Harry Potter: Harry’s Wondrous World
MICHAEL GIACCHINO Star Trek Into Darkness
JOHN WILLIAMS Theme from Schindler’s List
HANS ZIMMER Gladiator
BEN PALMER The Journey Through Time: A Merck Symphony
JOHN WILLIAMS E.T.: Adventures on Earth
MONTY NORMAN James Bond Theme
ALAN MENKEN Beauty and the Beast: Overture
JOHN WILLIAMS Star Wars: Symphonic Suite: excerpts

Covent Garden Sinfonia (CD recording)
10-12 Oct 2018, St Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead, London
PĒTERIS VASKS Lonely Angel
ARVO PÄRT Fratres
MAX RICHTER The Four Seasons Recomposed
---
Fenella Humphreys violin

Covent Garden Sinfonia
Tue 9 Oct 2018, 19:15, Purcell Room, Southbank Centre, London
BEN PALMER Bach Dreams (UK premiere)
PĒTERIS VASKS Lonely Angel
ARVO PÄRT Fratres
MAX RICHTER The Four Seasons Recomposed
---
Fenella Humphreys violin

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sun 7 Oct 2018, 14:00, Milton Court, London
Sun 7 Oct 2018, 16:00, Milton Court, London
HERBERT CHAPPELL Paddington Bear’s First Concert
BRITTEN Suite on English Folk Songs: Cakes and Ale
RAVEL Ma mère l’Oye: excerpts
POUL RUDERS Four Dances in One Movement: Whispering
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Flight of the Bumblebee
TCHAIKOVSKY Suite No. 4 ‘Mozartiana’: Preghiera
MALCOLM ARNOLD Serenade for Small Orchestra: Allegro
---
Simon Russell Beale narrator

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Fri 28 Sep 2018, 19:30, St David’s Hall, Cardiff
Sat 29 Sep 2018, 14:30, Royal Albert Hall, London
Sat 29 Sep 2018, 19:30, Royal Albert Hall, London
Sun 30 Sep 2018, 13:30, Royal Albert Hall, London
JOHN WILLIAMS Jurassic Park in Concert

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Wed 26 Sep 2018, 19:30, Portsmouth Guildhall
JOHN WILLIAMS Raiders of the Lost Ark in Concert

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Sun 23 Sep 2018, 14:00, Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 19:30, Plymouth Pavilions
JOHN WILLIAMS Jurassic Park in Concert

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Mon 17 Sep 2018, 19:30, Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool
Tue 18 Sep 2018, 19:30, De Montfort Hall, Leicester
Wed 19 Sep 2018, 19:30, Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham
Fri 21 Sep 2018, 19:30, Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Sat 22 Sep 2018, 19:30, Bonus Arena, Hull
JOHN WILLIAMS Raiders of the Lost Ark in Concert

Deutsche Philharmonie Merck
Sun 16 Sep 2018, 18:00, Kloster Eberbach, Eltville am Rhein
HAYDN Symphony No. 13 in D
BRUCKNER Symphony No. 3 in D minor (original 1873 version)

Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Sun 9 Sep 2018, 19:30, The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
JOHN WILLIAMS Raiders of the Lost Ark in Concert

Grimethorpe Colliery Band
Fri 7 Sep 2018, 19:30, Symphony Hall, Birmingham
TREVOR JONES Brassed Off Live